Trusting Jesus in the Messy

a2ee02b5244248114a9a0bbc7a169eb6

Trust 〉〉 reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence

Trust can sometimes be a complex thing. There are some situations that we find it easy to trust. There are other times, however, we build walls up and refuse to rely on someone other than ourselves. As much as I hate to admit it, there are areas in my life that I hesitate to give it all to Jesus. One specific area is my future.

The future can be really exciting or absolutely terrifying. In these recent weeks God has been pressing the word “trust” on my heart. I’ve started to dig deep and look at what fully trusting in Jesus looks like. A few days ago I was driving to work listening to the radio. I don’t even remember which “Bethel Music” song I was listening to but when I felt God put a certain phrase on my heart and mind, there was no denying it. It was the simple phrase: “There is beauty in surrender”

I quickly wrote the phrase down in my journal {which is dangerous to do while driving and I don’t recommend it}. I’ve been thinking about it like crazy ever since that morning. What would our lives look like if we fully surrendered every part of our lives to Jesus, fully trusting in Him?

I cannot say that without clarifying that our trust can’t be circumstantial. This is not a matter of trusting Him while everything is good and going our way. This is about trusting Jesus even in the messy. Even in the most broken times of our lives. In the confusing and dry seasons of life. He is good all the time so why shouldn’t we trust in Him all the time?

Trusting Jesus in the messy makes me think of Xander Hall. A good chunk of his life was spent in hospitals and doctor’s offices undergoing more tests and chemo treatments than a young boy should have to. To others, Xander’s life might have looked broken and sad. But to those who really knew him, we only saw hope. We saw God’s mercy. We saw trust. Trust that no matter what would come his way, God would be near and faithful. Not only this, but God brought peace to Xander’s friends and family. It will never ever feel right to say I’m going over to see 3 Moore children instead of 4. It makes me sick to think that while Charli, McClain, and Carter {almost jokingly} call me “Nanny Pag”, I will never hear Xander call me that here on this earth. But I do know this: trusting in Jesus means trusting in the hope that I will see Xander again.

Facebook-20151010-015323     〈〈 My favorite picture of Xander taken in 2011

Trusting Jesus in the messy makes me think of Donna Sherman. She recently lost her sweet husband far too early. I cannot begin to imagine the emotional and even physical pain of this great loss. But do you want to know the greatest thing? She continues to trust Jesus. Although it’s broken. It’s messy. It’s not ideal at all. She can trust because of this hope and peace that surpasses all understanding. And one of the best things about it is that she has this hope that she will see him again. This hope that only Jesus can give. Oh how thankful I am for that truth.

IMG_5784 (1)  〈〈 Donna and I {isn’t she pretty??}

Jhett Skaggs’ life is a pure depiction of trusting Jesus in the messy. Jhett was only 10 months old when he needed a heart transplant. His new heart came at a perfect time {God’s timing, of course} but he is at a point where he is in need of another one. He re-listed for a second heart in November of 2012 and is still waiting. Nothing about this situation is fun and it takes so much patience. So much trust. Trust that God has a plan even when we don’t understand in the slightest way. The truth is, only He sees the greater picture. He orchestrates everything in this world so beautifully and we have to trust His timing. How lucky are we that we get to trust in the One who created all of us so intricately? I’d say we are pretty fortunate. With that being said, please join me in relentless prayer for Jhett and his family. Prayer is so powerful and we need to make our requests known to God. He listens and He is oh so faithful.

Facebook-20151013-033122  〈〈 My favorite picture of Jhett.

Trusting in Jesus makes me think of Paul’s story. If you’re not familiar with it, go read Philippians. It’s an easy read and it is so worth it. Paul was in prison for the gospel, yet he trusted in Jesus with his whole heart. He even talks about rejoicing. I would love to think that if I were in his shoes I would be saying the same thing but the truth is that I’m not sure my initial reaction would be like Paul’s. But do you know why he had that attitude? Trust.

The bottom line is this: life will be messy. It will be broken because we live in a sinful world. God never told us that this life would be easy and he never said we would be free from suffering. But oh friends, trusting in Jesus is so worth it. Trusting in Jesus is fun. Trusting in a relationship that will never fail you and never forsake you is refreshing, exciting, and beautiful. I am choosing to trust Jesus in the messy and in the broken because nothing satisfies my heart more. What will you choose?

Proverbs 3:5〉〉 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.

Thanks for letting me share my heart!

〉〉 Paige Elizabeth 〈〈

Leave a Reply

